Social Behavior

George Costanza’ Colliding Worlds

This post might be out of time but today I watched a rerun episode of Seinfeld show on TBS. I am not going to write how many times I watched this show, let us just say “many times”. Anyway, today’s episode was “The Pool Guy”. I had to search for the script of this episode and luckily I found this.

I liked very much the colliding worlds theory

JERRY: Hey, why don’t cha ask Susan?
ELAINE: George’s Susan?
JERRY: Yeah.
ELAINE: Yeah. Why not Susan. I should be friends with Susan. Of course! Susan! Oh! OK, I’ll see you guys. Huh. (rushes out the door.)
KRAMER: That’s gunna be trouble.
JERRY: Why?
KRAMER: Jerry, don’t you see? This world here, this is George’s sanctuary. If Susan
comes into contact with this world, his world’s collide. You know what happens then?

… [later on the show]

GEORGE: Ah you have no idea of the magnitude of this thing. If she is allowed to
infiltrate this world, then George Costanza as you know him, Ceases to Exist! You see,
right now, I have Relationship George, but there is also Independent George. That’s the
George you know, the George you grew up with — Movie George, Coffee shop George,
Liar George, Bawdy George.
JERRY: I, I love that George.
GEORGE: Me Too! And he’s Dying Jerry! If Relationship George walks through this
door, he will Kill Independent George! A George, divided against itself, Cannot Stand!

Leave a Reply

