Arab · Islam · Media · Politics · USA

The American Right-Wing is No Right

Last week, America’s pinhead Bill O’Reilly said “Muslims killed us on 9/11” while on the TV show “The View”. He followed his remark questioning the hosts’ reaction “Muslims didn’t kill us on 9/11 that’s what you are saying?” This stupid remark led two of the TV program, Whoopi Goldberg and Joy Behar, to walk off while he repeated his Anti-Muslim comment. When he noticed that the entire audience cheered for the two TV hosts’ courageous action he corrected himself by saying “extremists Muslims killed us on 9/11”. But this is not what I want to talk about. He is known to be a pinhead and let’s leave it to that.

 

My concern though is how insulting and bashing Muslims in American’s media is becoming the new trend. No consequences what so ever to any Anti-Muslim hate speech. Compare for example the magnitude of an Anti-Semitism comment to an Anti-Muslim comment. In the world of America, one Anti-Semitism comment will for sure push whoever said the comment down the drain. The latest of course being Helen Thomas and many like her who ruined their carrier because they were accused of being Anti-Semites. Meanwhile, someone who says an Anti-Muslim comment will be offered a job at the expense of insulting over one billion Muslim.

Juan Williams was fired as news analyst with National Public Radio (NPR) after his interview with Bill Oreilly were he said that Muslims in traditional dress boarding planes made him nervous. Here is what happened:

O’Reilly has been looking for support for his own remarks on a recent episode of ABC’s The View in which he directly blamed Muslims for the Sept. 11, 2001, attacks. Co-hosts Joy Behar and Whoopi Goldberg walked off the set in the middle of his appearance.

Williams responded: "Look, Bill, I’m not a bigot. You know the kind of books I’ve written about the civil rights movement in this country. But when I get on the plane, I got to tell you, if I see people who are in Muslim garb and I think, you know, they are identifying themselves first and foremost as Muslims, I get worried. I get nervous."

via [NPR]

If Juan Williams’ remark was not enough then wait till you read this:

Prominent rightwing figures, from Sarah Palin to radio talk show host Rush Limbaugh, rushed to his defense and Fox offered him a three-year $2m (£1.3m) contract.

via [Guardian]

In a must-read article on the Huffington post by the Comedian Dean  Obeidallah he mentioned another recent Anti-Muslim remark on Fox news:

Fox News anchor and radio host Brian Kilmeade continued the campaign of demonizing Muslims by making the ridiculous and factually inaccurate comment: "All terrorists are Muslims."

via [huff]

He then raises the question:

But what happens when you make comments against Muslims or Arabs in America that incite hatred? You get more ratings. You sell more books. You are defended by people who say that you are brave and courageous for standing up to political correctness.

via [huff]

What is the future of this Anti-Muslim trend in America? Is this new trend the winning card for the right wing to win the election? In a campaign ad last month, North Carolina GOP Congressional candidate Renee Ellmers released an attack against her opponent that attempts to link him to the building of an Islamic community center near Ground Zero. Watch how the ad links between Muslims, “victory mosques” and terrorists.

For the sake of humanity and whatever sanity left I do hope to hear someone from the right-wing speaking up against this Anti-Muslim new trend series. One would ponder how come Fox News Channel is the number one highest rated cable news in America?

6 thoughts on “The American Right-Wing is No Right

    1. I know you will. You are my favorite right-winger!
      I thought you are staying away from distractions till end of the month 🙂
      Good luck with your project!

      Like

  1. I have been getting a lot of emails asking me to support the “Turn off Fox News” initiative, which I have signed my support to – the idea being to get businesses throughout the U.S. to not air the channel in their businesses. Not much else that can be done, I think.

    (Kinzi, I’m going to tell! Get back to work!)

    Like

    1. I didn’t know people are corresponding the “Turn off Fox News” initiative email. But I know many advertisers are leaving Fox News because of Glenn Beck which is good news. I value being conservative, I consider myself a conservative Muslim after all. But Fox News went from being conservative to a hatred spreading propaganda machine. It just keeps doing one mistake after another.

      Like

      1. You may be a religious conservative and you may be a social conservative. You might even have some morals and values in common with American conservatives, but you can’t be pigeon-holed with the American conservative movement as I’m sure you’ve already figured out. (And, of course, in all fairness, not even all American “conservatives” can be pigeon-holed with each other.)

        The “Turn off Fox News” campaign is based specifically on Byron William’s plot to murder workers for 2 different non-profit organizations (Tides Foundation and ACLU) based on some Glenn Beck commentary. Williams is specifically quoted, from prison, as saying, “Beck will never say anything about a conspiracy, will never advocate violence … But he’ll give you every ounce of evidence that you could possibly need.”

        I was raised in a conservative family and my parents are what I call “George W. Bush Republicans.” (You can imagine the reaction I got when I moved to Jordan – they still won’t entertain the idea of coming to visit me, but they’re starting to get over the paranoia that I might be taken hostage by a terrorist. It makes it worse that I more politically liberal the older I get, although many of the values they raised me with have remained.) One of the most interesting parts of my summer visit to see my family was my father spending so much time asking me questions about things he had seen on Fox News and wanting my opinion on those things. He simply wanted to know what was true and what wasn’t. He continues to send me a few emails a week asking more questions. I am glad for that – maybe someday he’ll turn off Fox News too.

        Like

Leave a Reply

