Books · Life in America

Storytelling

Today, I went to Barnes & Noble one of my favorite places to hangout in town. I go there very often to see what is new in the world of books and to learn more about this fascinating business. I hope one day to be able to open a nice bookstore in Jordan, with the goal of attracting more Jordanians to “reading books”.

I wanted to buy George Orwel’s 1984 novel since I have never read it before. But since I am super busy this summer I decided I just want a light read.

20110709204946388

So, I went to the Magazines’ section browsing for something new.

20110709204939948

I found these two interesting publications. The first is a periodical that is roughly new, couple of years old only. Human’s brain fascinates me so I always like learning something new about this mysterious organ.  The second one is a one time publication by Writer’s Digest. It has interesting articles about writing skills and publishing.

2011070921011240120110709204947094

After I bought these two publications, I sat in the coffee shop inside Barnes & Noble to read while enjoying a nice Earl Grey tea.

20110709204947926

Here are some excerpts from an interesting article, Tell me a story by Gabrielle Selz, I read in Brain World magazine.

What is the relationship between storytelling and the brain?

We use stories to pass on information, to communicate and influence people.

The telling of stories connects regions within our brains which are instantaneously mirrored in the listener’s brain, acting as social glue cognitively and emotionally.

For years, educators like professor Roger Schank have pointed out that information is retained better through stories.

And studies have shown that people retain about one-fifth of what they read, but four-fifth of the images in their minds.

Narratives are an influential method of persuasion. They provoke interest, invite involvement and encourage empathy. For years now, advertisers, lawyers, journalists and politicians have been using the ability to shape facts into compelling storytelling to convince us to buy products, judge events, read articles and vote.

Telling stories does far more than link disparate images together; it allows us to understand information and unites us in our beliefs.

So, this was my story today!

10 thoughts on “Storytelling

    1. I checked out a Kindle from our library and returned it back after two weeks although I can keep it for the whole semester. I hated it. The experience of flipping, touching and smelling the pages is priceless. I hope e-reader devices never destroy this beautiful moment while reading a book.

      Like

  1. Yeah I hear what you are saying but I must admit that I’m now more inclined to do so much more e reading than an actual paper book reading. It is much easier it does not require me to travel to the book store, it is conveniently located, in addition to being available 24 hours a day 365 days a year.

    Like

    1. I will not argue against what you said they all are valid points. I agree convenient might be the best selling point. But for me I am a traditional guy who like old things 🙂 I wasn’t joking when I said I like the smell of pages. I sometimes open a book and put my nose in the middle of the page and take a deep breath 🙂 I guess, kindle can’t do that, at least for now because I know they can do it in the future.

      Like

  2. This was interesting about stories. Makes me think of the parables Jesus told and how they DO tend to stick better in my brain! Probably because I was able to visualize things he said.

    Oh, and I enjoy reading about your days. Hope you enjoyed the tea! 🙂

    Like

    1. Yes, I agree stories always stick longer in our memory. This concept is very important for educators because they need to adapt it in the learning process.
      Yes, the tea was very good. It was a nice day! Thanks 🙂

      Like

  3. Wow, 8 hours is too much for me. But I can imagine why, the environment is really nice in those bookshops.
    Yes, I heard the same about Borders. Sadly, e-readers are killing the business it seems.

    Like

  4. I thought you said you were looking for a light-read LOL! 1984 is a pretty good book, when you get around to reading it if you love it I recommend you pick “super sad true love story” which is a basically a modern world version of 1984.

    I definitely agree with your comment on the kindle!

    Like

    1. I read Animal Farm and I liked it but almost everyone who also read 1984 liked it even more. Thanks for the book recommendation, I will give it a try.

      Like

Leave a Reply

