Politics · USA

The Thirteenth Amendment

It was only recently during a discussion with my colleagues and our adviser, during the presidential election, I learned that President Lincoln was a Republican. And last week after watching the movie Lincoln I learned also that the Republican party, unlike the Democratic party, was supporting the The Emancipation Proclamation. That is, proclaiming all slaves in Confederate territory to be forever free.

The movie shows that Lincoln alone, against the approval of his cabinet members, who pushed very hard for the approval of the Thirteenth Amendment.

“The Thirteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution outlaws slavery and involuntary servitude, except as punishment for a crime. It was passed by the Senate on April 8, 1864, by the House on January 31, 1865, and adopted on December 6, 1865.” [Wikipedia]

The movie was amazing. I liked it but I am sure Americans would feel more than just enjoyment  watching part of a great history in the making. The performance was outstanding by everyone.

 

5 thoughts on “The Thirteenth Amendment

    1. Not necessarily a Democrat but I didn’t expect the party that initiated the end of slavery to be the Republican party. I don’t like one party more than the other but lets say whenever I think of the Republicans some repulsive and haters like Rush Limbaugh, Michael Savage, Hanity, Ann Coulter, Glenn Beck, and a few others make me wonder why the Republicans give them a voice over the media.
      I know the American Civil War was between the North and the South so I didn’t think parties are involved.

      Like

      1. Ah, I see. When I think Republicans, I think of most of my family and friends so I see an entirely different group than you. But like you said in one of my posts, you rely on TV to form your opinions (like the ma’am thing.)

        The South was very Democratic back then….funny how it’s flip-flopped. Traditionally the South seems more conservative whether it’s conserving slavery or “traditional” marriage (i.e. 1 man, 1 woman and being against gay marriage). At least in theory. Like you said about America, it’s the same here. We have extremes. It’s not like everyone is the same.

        Like

      2. As a Muslim I think I should be leaning toward the Republicans. I agree with them on some of the issues and I think they have the right to protect their religion. But I disagree with them on some other issues as well especially when it comes to other religions (e.g., Islam).
        I am very sure the individuals I mentioned do not necessarily present the majority of the Republicans. There are many good Republicans who don’t agree with these people. But people with loud voices are always in the front.

        Like

      3. I understand. I recognize contradictions in myself quite often. I think people are a mixture – we all have good and bad qualities. The parties are just reflections of this: they are made up of people, therefore, they also have good and bad traits. That’s how I see it anyway.

        Like

Leave a Reply

