Picture America

Picture America – No Weapons Sign

When I came to the US and saw the no firearms or weapons signs I didn’t understand their purpose. I thought these signs will not deter thieves from robbing a bank or a store. Then after a couple of years living here I thought they might have a legal reason to use in court but not as a preemptive measure. But then after learning more about the American culture it seems there is another reason. These signs are not posted to warn criminals they are also to warn civilians not to bring their firearms inside. When you live in the USA enough you will learn that Americans really, really love their weapons.

So, why Americans love weapons? There are three main reasons:

  1. Continuity  Compared to the existence of any country, the USA is relatively a new country. Historically, when only Indians inhabited the land and before there was a civil law, European immigrants used to claim a big land to be their own. Firearms were necessary to protect their property. After the inception of the civil law, these firearms remain important because the USA is a vast country where many people used to live outside of city juristic.
  2. Freedom — Americans pride themselves of being free. They consider owning weapons (not just a firearm) a form of practicing their right as stated in the constitution.  Some believe these weapons are very important for the civilians so they can protect themselves once the government gone wrong. They don’t want to let what happened to their ancestors in Europe happen to them.
  3. Protection  For some Americans protecting one’s family and property remains an issue even after 400 years, when the first European settled in America. There are many reasons why this is still an issue. Among these reasons are fears of people who can easily obtain an unregistered firearm and maybe the fear of the new immigrants taking over the country which also might be related to the race issue still existing.
firearms
A sign at the entrance of Shelter Gardens in Columbia, MO.
7 thoughts on “Picture America – No Weapons Sign

  1. “once the government gone wrong” 🙂 + 😦

    Isn’t it an issue (owning firearms and the like) that differs drastically between states?

    Like

    1. Yes, different states have different laws but there is also a federal law which is forced on all states. The National Rifle Association NRA is a very big and rich organization that has many supporters in the congress. The Gun Control in the USA is one of the most debated issues. No presidential candidate so far didn’t address the gun control issue. Americans want to know where the next president stands on this issue. Some wants more gun control others don’t.

      Like

  2. I enjoyed reading your thoughts on why Americans like weapons. I guess these reasons are based on what you’ve observed and learned from talking to Americans. Do you ever ask random Americans, “Why do you own a gun?” Maybe I should poll my FB friends sometime. 🙂

    I love your blog. Nice range of topics. 🙂

    Like

    1. I actually never discussed this topic with Americas.
      These reasons are based solely on my analysis after reading and watching the news.
      The reason I didn’t discuss this topic with anybody is an item in my next post. I will list few topics that are debatable and sensitive to discuss in the USA.
      Gun control is one of these issues of course.

      Thank you for your kind words. I enjoy your comments and glad you like this blog. Thank you!

      Like

  3. I believe (right or wrong) that because of this attitude or stand on guns, the USA is the most advanced military power on earth. Otherwise, we would all be speaking Russian. Question: What is the most popular light firearm in the world today? Answer: The Kalashnikov

    Like

    1. I think I have read somewhere that the Kalashnikov is the most popular weapon.
      By the way, I got three months military training when I was in my senior year at school. It was obligatory after Jordan canceled the two years obligatory military service.
      I was the fastest to disassemble and assemble a Kalashnikov in my group and I also got an ‘Excellent’ grade for my AK4 shooting. This was in the late 80s. I didn’t touch a firearm since then.

      I don’t have a problem with people owning a firearm in their house. I understand the need for people to protect their families. This post is not about gun control. It is somehow to let me understand why American citizens, as far as I know, like firearms more than any other nation.

      Like

Leave a Reply

