Jordan

A day in Amman – photo essay I

Amman, the capital of Jordan, is a beautiful city. I lived there three months only when I worked as a Software Developer back in 2000. Although, I liked both my job and the city my dream was to be in Academia. So, I moved to Irbid to teach at Yarmouk University.

I visited Amman couple of weeks ago to meet two Jordanian-American friends who live in Columbia, MO. One moved to Jordan two years ago (he is still not sure if it is for good or not) and the other was visiting. It was nice catching up with them and chatting about Columbia and about friends over there.

p.s., All pictures below were taken while I was in a car (I wasn’t driving). Hence, the bad quality.

These pictures were taken at one of the nicest and wealthiness—I guess—neighborhood in Amman.

DSCF6090 DSCF6081

DSCF6077

DSCF6087

DSCF6088 DSCF6080 DSCF6086

8 thoughts on “A day in Amman – photo essay I

    1. The good news we had much rain in the past three days. The better news (at least for me) it is sunny! Jordan is sunny most of the year even when it gets very cold.
      Temperatures these days are high 50s – low 60s.

      Like

  1. I think the pictures are pretty good considering they were taken from a moving car. Usually when people take pictures that way, there is a lot of blur in the photos, but your pictures are really nice.

    Like

    1. Nice to hear that. Thank you!
      I wish I have the gut to take pictures of people like you do in your website. I always wanted to take pictures of people but I have never done it.

      Like

      1. You should try it one day. Think about it. How many times have you walked down the street and saw someone taking your picture? My personal thing is to not get in their personal space. Some street photographers do it and it drives me crazy because it’s so rude. Get close enough so the people don’t look like miniature toys, but don’t get so close as to make people uncomfortable.

        Like

    1. I am sure you are not alone. I know many people who don’t like living in Amman. If you didn’t like it before, you will hate it now. It is getting insanely crowded.
      Still, I see myself living there rather than any other Jordanian city.

      Like

Leave a Reply

