Jordan · Picture Jordan

Visiting Roman Ruins (1)

2015-04-08 11.49.36
An array of school buses

Yesterday, I went to one of my favorite places in Irbid, Umm Qais (aka Gadara). Unfortunately, there were too many school trips to enjoy the magnificent place by myself any my two nephews. I was told it is because of Spring that many schools bring their students here. Understandably, spring in Irbid is perfect.

“Gadara [built in the 3rd century] continued to be an important town within the Eastern Roman Empire, and was long the seat of a Christian bishop. With the conquest of the Arabs, following the Battle of Yarmouk in 636 it came under Muslim rule. Around 747 it was largely destroyed by an earthquake, and was abandoned.”

Unfortunately, I didn’t have my camera so I took all the photos my phone.

Cardo

“The cardo, an integral component of city planning, was lined with shops and vendors, and served as a hub of economic life.”

2015-04-08 12.32.17 2015-04-08 12.33.12

My nephews, in white and red, walking by the Roman shops (circa 100 – 200 AD) along the Cardo. And a different angle of the Roman shops with an array of students.

IMG_20150408_171418

This is my favorite photo. No wonder people say “all roads lead to Rome.” This is what left of once a great empire. This Cardo leads to the Sea of Galilee (known in the region as Lake Tiberias). Romans and their slaves walking the opposite direction would enter Gadara which also has a Roman theater (will post some pictures soon).

2015-04-08 12.43.05

Entering Gadara city. The right side is where the Roman shops are.

IMG_20150408_171100A view over Lake Tiberias.

6 thoughts on “Visiting Roman Ruins (1)

    1. Thank you, Tina!
      This region is truly one of the most beautiful places I have been to. There is so much history.
      If only we can get along 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

