Culture

It is okay to smile to strange children in Jordan

While taking my order, the barista got distracted when she saw the baby girl in her stroller accompanied with her father. “So cute,” she said. The father then sat near my table with his daughter. He looked American. I wanted to chat with him, but didn’t know how to start. Later, the barista came to his table and started smiling and baby talk with the baby girl. I then saw her carrying her and leaving the table. She took the baby to show her coworkers the cute baby. I smiled. I was behind the father so he didn’t see me. Luckily, he looked okay. It seems he is not new in Jordan.

When he stood up, getting ready to leave, he looked at my table so I asked him “Are you an American?” I know it is not the best first question you ask a stranger, but I didn’t know how else to start our chat. When he confirmed, I told him I lived in the States. He asked me where I was. I told him I went to grad school in Columbia, MO. I learned that he went to school in Kansas city. It was important to tell him about the culture in Jordan regarding kids. I told him that I saw the young lady took his baby away. “It is normal here,” I said. He smiled and told me he got used to it here. We talked how it is not okay doing such thing in the USA but here it is fine.

This reminded me of something I did back in the USA when I offered to give a ride to two kids. ย Luckily, they refused and I didn’t know why back then ๐Ÿ™‚

I was happy to talk to an American here in Jordan.

6 thoughts on “It is okay to smile to strange children in Jordan

  1. This is very interesting. I do think that some people take the cautiousness a bit too far here. A few years ago there was this big issue about people sitting on the benches in children’s playgrounds if they didn’t have a child with them.

    Like

    1. Couple of years ago, I read on the Huffington Post about a father who posted his picture on social media on bed with his child. I think the child was naked because it was after bath kind of picture. Anyway, many Americans didn’t like it and gave the father a hard time. I do think Americans take this issue too far.

      One time while watching a French movie on Netflix back in the US, there was a scene of a father and mother bathing their young son and daughter all birth-like naked. I couldn’t believe what I saw. It was a normal Drama movie. It was the strangest thing I saw. I think THIS is way too far for me.

      Like

  2. culture culture, what an interesting (thing) to (do)

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks Malik, these stories are powerful, they really are.

    Like

Leave a Reply

